ZF Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UAW environment
Area Coordinator and Maintenance Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Lebanon, TNJuly 6, 2018
Not a friendly environment to work in. Management is based on the "Good Ole Boy" network. There is no room for an "outsider" to move up at all. While there, was overlooked for numerous positions for which I was well qualified
Pros
Close to home
Cons
Lots of negativity; Plant manager uses profanity constantly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they do offer a workout room
Factory Worker (Former Employee) –  Lafayette, INJune 26, 2018
Very fast paced. People are very friendly and willing to help when needed. they do offer a workout room. A typical day at work would be a short morning meeting,confirm parts in box matched orders,scan and label boxes,close boxes after inspection and move them out to be shipped. Pick orders,pack small orders and do the UPS orders. I learned that it's very important to be able to work as a team. The hardest part for me was the hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was alright
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Newton, NCJune 14, 2018
I was kinda threw in a position and i didnt get proper training, it was an easy job just wished i could have been paid more attention to on my first day
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunty to learn about produc introduction
Senior Buyer (Former Employee) –  Winona, MNJune 13, 2018
They followed processes very strongly, performing PFMEA's (learning from previous launches to gain better quality in new product launches). Team oriented in meeting company goals.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Material Planner/Customer Service Rep-Honda (Former Employee) –  Garrett, INJune 11, 2018
Working at ZF was enjoyable and productive.
I was lucky to have an amazing manager. She allowed a flexible work schedule when needed with the ability to work from home on a approved basis.
Good growth potential as I started as a temp pushing paper and was promoted twice over the two and a half years I was employed.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work enviroment
Product Engineer Co-op (Former Employee) –  Livonia, MIMay 30, 2018
Working on ZF was a great experience. The team is a very well prepared and they will teach/train to the co-ops everything they can in the most precise way.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place for a first job or someone with no skills
Operator (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AZMay 29, 2018
management is a bit strong but the work environment is good. the job can be a bit challenging sometimes and people can be grumpy. safety is very demanding.
Pros
good shift pays, paied vacation, full benifits
Cons
can be a lot of hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work and learn
LEAD MANUFACTURING ENGINEER (Current Employee) –  TNMay 29, 2018
This company allows you to work as much as you can stand. You will learn something new weekly as an engineer. If you are good you will be overloaded with other peoples work as it is almost impossible to be fired.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serious performing job
Machine Operator/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, GAMay 29, 2018
Work environment was good most the time. People rarely leave ZF once hired on due to good management. I personally havent worked there in a while but it was a good company!
Pros
Long lunch breaks
Cons
Not paid lunch breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
ASSEMBLY OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 27, 2018
ZF chassis system was a great place to work. It is very fast paced, and can be competitive. Expect to stand long hours or be able to handle the physical requirements. My favorite part of working at ZF was the flexible schedule. The job was fairly easy , and the people there were friendly.
Pros
flexible schedule, good pay
Cons
physchcal, and can be competitve
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terible place to work
CNC Technician (Former Employee) –  Oakwood, GAMay 27, 2018
Absolutely no work /life balance poor working conditions management off every weekend while Production staff works 7 days a week for 80 to 90 days straight for 1 day off facility 110 degrees on a good day with pay barely 11 dollars per hour with a 1 percent raise ever year
Pros
None what so ever
Cons
Pathetic management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had fun
Equipment operator (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AZMay 22, 2018
It was fun for the time I was there met a lot of good people and there a lot of hours if you want to work here and you can learn a lot from this company.
Pros
Lot of hours and fun
Cons
It's like most jobs you don't show and don't call well you know.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management and others made it stressful
Packer (Former Employee) –  Garrett, INMay 15, 2018
The place was fine if you had the right people to work with.
They talk about saftey but most of the people dont follow it except for the saftey jackets and gloves. The forklifter constantly thought she was the supervisor and kept scolding me for saftey when my partner was doing the same thing and not getting scolded.

Worked with someone that constantly had a chip on her shoulder. Bad attitude, never talked to me when I tried communicating with her, i was miserable. people have been telling me that they've been there a year and havent been hired In yet
Pros
Breaks, day goes by fast.
Cons
Supervisor, forklifter with an ego, some employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good place to work
Accountant IV (Former Employee) –  Winona, MNMay 10, 2018
Overall good place to work; learned a great deal in the automotive industry; hardest part of the job was mandatory travel; most enjoyable part was working with wonderful people
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overly stressful due to management attitude
Production Technician (Current Employee) –  Mesa, AZApril 27, 2018
This is a good company with good benefits but the management leads with a bully mentality. The work is good pay is low and days off are rare. With little support from management it is hard to stay motivated.
Pros
work is good
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful place to work
Assembler, Automobile Parts (Former Employee) –  Lafayette, INApril 26, 2018
Did not care for the job of assembler. worked in a team setting and was told to do various jobs not related to the position I was in. POOR MANAGEMENT!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast paced development of crucial software
Associate Software Architect (Former Employee) –  Livonia, MIApril 25, 2018
People at ZF enjoyed joking around in a polite manner while also working hard to accomplish the goals. The company promoted healthy living and a good work/life balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company, good manager
Senior Test Technician (Former Employee) –  Washington, MIApril 17, 2018
ZF was a good company to work for. I learned a lot and had many opportunities to work in other departments and learn how to operate other equipment. ZF treated their employees well.
Pros
room for learning
Cons
not much room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Summer Intern (Former Employee) –  Romeo, MIApril 16, 2018
there was always something to do or help with during the work day. and during shift changes there was a great amount of teamwork and productive communication. ZF takes great care of their employees and I learned a ton about their company and the technology they use everyday.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Use to Be Great, Now Average
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, GAApril 14, 2018
A mix of competent and incompetent managers. Unfair and unclear hiring practices - often times seems people are getting jobs through favoritism/friendships. Work load is very high and stressful with limited resources. Management didn't handle company changes well and often times out of touch with workforce. Communication at times non-existent or confusing. Benefits are good even though premiums did go up every year.
Pros
Benefits, job security, diverse work.
Cons
Communication, management styles, hiring practices.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ZF. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 1,030 reviews
5376
4326
3216
264
148

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.6Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.3

1.9Personal Development

2.5Career Opportunities

2.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight