Zipcar Employee Reviews

3.6
Overall rating
Based on 46 reviews
Ratings breakdown
514
413
310
25
14
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 37 reviews matching the search See all 46 reviews
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Hgs (Former Employee) –  Peoria, ILJune 28, 2018
Zipcar is a great account , good team leaders and excellent people to help and support you the goal is to keep our customers happy and we achieve just that
Pros
Better workers
Cons
I wouldn't change anything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better as a private entity
MEMBER SERVICES SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAMay 14, 2018
The Avis merger was a catch 22...like any company that receives a parent company there are pros and cons. Pros: more notoriety, faster results, more fleet inventory, better/more vendor relations, more networking opportunity Cons: culture shift, position cut backs, loss of growth opportunity, loss of creativity, becomes a bit lack luster in appeal
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed
Anonymous (Current Employee) –  AnonymousMarch 10, 2018
It’s a relaxed, laid back atmosphere. It’s fun at times. Clear cut objective measures. They provide opportunities to expand individual skills. They listen to feedback.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Zipcar
OPERATIONS SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLMarch 6, 2018
This is a terrible place to work. You work more hours than scheduled and do not get paid over time. Management is lazy and they delegate all of their responsibilities to everyone else.
Pros
Good rental discount.
Cons
Work for low wages and little benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Auto detail
Auto Detailer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 28, 2018
Amazing job! You drive most of the time, cleaning process is pretty simple.no management on you back the whole shift. Your not stuck in some office all day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Fleet Coordinator (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 6, 2018
As long as you increase your job performance, then everything will be simple. Within the workplace, it does in the end feel like your second family. The hardest part of the job is understanding the unknowns. I've increased my knowledge of cars.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
No overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
contract work
Operations and Logistics Manager (Current Employee) –  Wellesley, MADecember 12, 2017
management is not paid well and overall upper management changes frequently. pacing of work is sometimes overbearing .good longterm employement. otherwise its a good place to work
Pros
freedom of workday and location
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work.
Fleet Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 19, 2017
● Responsibly, maintained a fleet of over 40 vehicles throughout NYC and the surrounding boroughs.
● Relocated vehicles daily, and preformed manufacturer recalls
● Communicated with and assisted other employees in vehicle relocation, and repairs
● Updated reports and vehicle assessment data utilizing virtual software
● Complied with vehicle repair budgets of $500 daily
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team that once was
Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJune 6, 2017
Zipcar is undergoing a complete overall by its parent company AvisBudget Group. Since the acquisition AvisBudget has struggled to comprehend the service and has reduced the value proposition and value of the Zipcar brand. Member and account services have decreased steadily as has car condition and overall quality of the service. This is making it very tough to do one's job. All that being said it is a wonderful company with talented, creative and upbeat employees. Many have been let go since the acquisition but many are still there awaiting news that they have been let go.
Pros
Great culture and co-workers at Zipcar.
Cons
AvisBudget is an old fashioned company struggling with a cool brand
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not much room for growth
Fleet Coordinator (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 5, 2017
People can really learn a lot about dealing with customers and fleets working here. Also the people are generally awesome to work with. However the company was bought out by a larger corporation and entire departments were laid off. Lots of great people were let go or left after the buyout.

Open job positions are filled by outside hired candidates instead of current employees, so there is not much room for growth in the local offices.

It IS a fun and casual work environment, I've learned a lot about the business. Management is accommodating and flexible. However the job positions will begin to stagnate due to lack of upward mobility.
Pros
Dress code is casual, good work/life balance
Cons
No room for growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive,fun,pool tsble
Fleet Associate (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYMay 19, 2017
Great place too work fun people everyone is very helpful answers questions you may have about the job. I had a great time as an employee working here would go back if t he accept me.
Pros
Celebrate birthdays, holidays, no one looking over your shoulder
Cons
Short breaks, etc
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could Have Been Great
Fleet Coordinator (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 17, 2017
Unfortunately, my career with this company started great and quickly went downhill. Management and executive leadership quickly fell out of touch and it seemed, didn't quite value the work their employees did.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fleet associate
Fleet Associate (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAMay 15, 2017
i have enjoyed working for zipcar it is a great company i love my job. it has been a great job. my supervisors are great, i enjoy my role and responsiblity as an FA.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn great customer service skills
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Peoria, ILApril 10, 2017
Zipcar is a very fast pace environment. There are almost no times when there aren't participants on the phones needing assistance with reservations and cancelations and help finding the location their car is in. This business services all types of people with any and every need you might think of. This company is highly motivated to customer satisfaction and being true to the brand.
Pros
Proud brand, good pay, discount
Cons
high volume, high pressure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super Fun
Brand Ambassador (Former Employee) –  OregonJanuary 25, 2017
The team was very supportive and always were into taking in new ideas of how to boost sales. Management was very helpful and you get to drive the cars for all the events.
Pros
Great Co-Workers and Managment
Cons
Temorary work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You'll stay for the people
Manager (Current Employee) –  Boston, MANovember 11, 2016
An overall good place to work. The organization is in constant flux with leadership team members leaving. The company is unsteady and management refuses to listen. Lots of people have left but they haven't addressed the issues that cause people to leave.
Pros
Good Work/Life Balance
Cons
Bad management, Poor compensation, Terrible benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
one of my favorite companies
Member Service Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 14, 2016
Love working here. when the going gets tough the tough get going with this company. Great support system and great room for growth.
Pros
work environment, co-workers
Cons
salary, expectations
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Zipcar, Zipcar, Zipcar - What happened
Coordinator (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 18, 2016
Zipcar used to be an amazing company to work for. Over the years it has slowly declined after taken over by Avis. The culture has faded and real management is non existant. The biggest recommendation i have for Zipcar is take care of your people and they will take care of you.

Will i miss working here, somewhat but overall? no, not at all.
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
micro managing, rude managers, unprofessional environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The decline of Car Sharing
Fleet Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 1, 2016
Once a great company...now a mess.
Exciting fast paced work atmosphere that is run by a leadership team in both NY and Boston that really does not understand car sharing. Since the buyout form Avis the company has continued to fall as the ABG has not idea how to run a car sharing low touch model. The IT systems do no integrate and all the efforts to do so are consistently hampered by poor budgeting. If you want to apploy as an associate or coordinator go ahead but as a
Pros
great 401K and occasional Beer cart
Cons
poor compensation, confused and unethical sr leadership. Lack of training
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and Friendly Environment
Artist (Current Employee) –  Franklin, WIDecember 22, 2015
The few people I have worked with during the events I do live art at have been a pleasure to be around. Good chemistry between the marketing associate and I. I also have free reign as to what design I want to paint on the Zipcars.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Zipcar. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Women's ratings

3.0Fairygodboss Score

100%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

50%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss