Zurich North America Employee Reviews

Found 519 reviews matching the search See all 672 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked and underpaid
Commercial Claims Specialist (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXSeptember 1, 2018
Zurich overworks their employees to the point that the job is not manageable. They make it so that it unrealistic to achieve any type of goals that they set which creates a very discouraging and negative work environment.
Pros
location
Cons
work load and pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Culture
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 24, 2018
Professional atmosphere with a real "team" culture at 100-year-old company. Great office location in downtown Los Angeles, and great benefits including PTO and 401K with company match, as well as a savings account.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disjointed mgmt and style, Switzerland is the lead dog.
Senior Risk Engineering Consultant (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCAugust 21, 2018
Disjointed mgmt and style, Switzerland is the lead dog. Europiean style of u/w does not work, incorrect pricing models for second and third tier markets.
Pros
Some travel
Cons
Lies about perf. awards
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
WC and GL Claims Associate (Former Employee) –  Parsippany, NJAugust 7, 2018
Aside from management, the overall experience of work there was good. The company offers many benefits to its employees and takes an interest in its employees needs/wants
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Cultural
Underwriting Lead Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 23, 2018
My experience at Zurich was outstanding, however there was no room for growth. I've been with the company since 2008 and I've been moved throughout the company into different business unit in the same job role.
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
Commute
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
inevitable management change
Special Investigator (Former Employee) –  Southeast USJuly 23, 2018
Management of my unit varied considerably over a 10 year period. The nature of the work became less valuable and it became more of just "dot the I's and move on" and less concerned with quality of work. One of my managers knew nothing about the nature of a particular kinds of investigations, and another preferred to hand off any involvement in an investigation to others.
Frankly, one was lazy and the other incompetent.
However, one of my managers during this period was extremely competent and he assisted greatly. Other investigators ranged from those that simply showed up to those with great experience and were highly competent.
Pros
some autonomy
Cons
more about "numbers" and less about quality
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my first real desk job
Processor (Former Employee) –  Livonia, MIJuly 20, 2018
loved it, until they laid us all off and rolled business into home office

typical day was spent working through daily job board and management was nice. Good working environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great work/life balance
Supplier Processing Specialist (Current Employee) –  Schaumburg, ILJuly 20, 2018
My team is allowed to work from home twice a week, free coffee and sparkling water, flexible hours, always volunteer opportunities, great food in the cafeteria.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working for my old manager
Commercial Property & Casualty Specialist (Former Employee) –  VirginiaJuly 17, 2018
My manager, when hired, taught me so much and was a great teacher. We worked so well together and I enjoyed when he did ride-alongs with me. Still miss that guy. There are a lot of managers who could learn from him!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good intern experience
Global Energy Intern (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 5, 2018
I had the opportunity to work here as a global energy intern.

I had to actively pursue opportunities, but as a first job, it was a great learning experience.
Pros
Work/life balance
Cons
lack of challenge in work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked for ACS, handling Zurich large loss claims.
PHYISICAL DAMAGE APPRAISER / ACS / MAY (Current Employee) –  TravelJuly 5, 2018
Great Job, interacting with dealer principles and vendors to manage large losses. Ability to work with the autonomy to settle losses based on fair claims practices to serve and manage combined objectives.
Pros
Negotiations and settlments
Cons
Work is dependent on weather
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Liability Team Manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJuly 3, 2018
the antiquated operating system made the job more difficult than necessary. many of the processes were not streamlined. high turnover due to workplace culture and operating system.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved Zurich
Claim Representative (Former Employee) –  Hauppauge, NYJune 29, 2018
I loved the environment and the people at Zurich. People performed their jobs and were accountable for their actions. I felt very fairly rated, treated and paid.
Pros
Nice coworkers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Career Path
Commercial Lines Reserving Actuary (Former Employee) –  Schaumburg, ILJune 27, 2018
Very financially solid company with an A- rating with AM Best which is considered very high in the commercial insurance line of business.
Great career path for someone who would like to move up in the corporate world.
Pros
Great Hours
Cons
HO too far
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would recommend Zurich as a potential employer
Training Design & Delivery (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJune 26, 2018
Productive driven. Good company to work for. Competitive benefits. Nice incentives. Great location, in the financial district, just outside of South Station.
Pros
Work from home twice a week
Cons
No room for advancement in the Boston location
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with a great team
UNDERWRITING ASSOCIATE III (Former Employee) –  Maitland, FLJune 26, 2018
My team was great, but management was not knowledgeable and were unable to assist us.
The Moral of the office was low and case load was high.
The team was great and we all worked hard to assist each other.
Pros
Summer Hours
Cons
Low Moral
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad place for IT professionals
Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  Schaumburg, ILJune 20, 2018
This company is very behind its competitors from a technology perspective. Couple that with little room for advancement, little meaningful work, little to no training and middle management that cares little for their direct reports and you have an unpleasant work experience and poor employee morale. Avoid!
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Paralegal (Current Employee) –  Hollywood, FLJune 19, 2018
Upon in the morning i am expected to review tasks, in order to support my attorneys. I make sure my attorneys have all documentation required for their hearings and or depositions. I support four attorneys.
Pros
Pto
Cons
work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding fast paced
INVESTIGATOR SPECIAL INVESTIGATION UNIT (Former Employee) –  Parsippany, NJJune 14, 2018
Good company, fast pace environment, supported by manager, challanging job with local territory travel involved.
Collaborative environment, with claims and siu,
Job entailed office and field work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging case load, but understaffed
Senior Trial Attorney (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJune 8, 2018
Challenging case load, but understaffed
Opportunity to work remotely,
Robust healthcare plan and benefits
Commuting to SF presents challenges on Bart or dirving
Pros
Work remotely
Cons
understaffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Zurich North America. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 672 reviews
5209
4203
3154
259
147

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture

Diversity score

76out of 100

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Zurich North America.

Powered by Comparably