Scam job

103 Replies
Highlighted
Highlighted
How do you check out offers you got through an Indeed email?? The first message came through Indeed, but then she used my direct email (telling me she got it from Indeed)... I'm new to using Indeed or any online job search so I don't know how to check these offers out. Should there be a link somewhere to the job or can potential employers just choose seekers to offer their jobs to via email???
TIA for any advice! I have a fishy offer I'm trying to check out.
Highlighted
Responding to an email be asking for more information won't hurt you... they won't get your bank account or anything just from that. Ask for the company name, and the details of the job.

You can also look at the email address. If it's a company name, search for info on that company. A big red flag would be someone offering a job but using a gmail, yahoo, mail.com, or other free email service. A business person should have a business email.

If the initial email mentions setting up Google Hangout for an interview, it's almost certainly a scam.

If they want you to pay money up front, it's a scam.

If they say they'll send you a check to cash so you can buy stuff, it's a scam.
Highlighted
My daughter was really excited to receive a job offer from a local Children's foundation through an application she submitted through Indeed. She received the initial email from indeed, however was asked to reply to a personal email so she could receive more information about the "job", which she did. This morning she received the same email mentioned above stating that they would send her money to purchase items,etc. I have since informed her of this scam and asked her to stop all correspondences with this person. This is unfortunate to see how people are targeting job-seekers. Please beware everyone.....
Highlighted