ForumTopicPage
Indeed Community

Why so difficult to get a new job in Seattle?

I've been able to land a group in-person interview, and phone interviews (which go well), but they always say they ended up going with an internal candidate or referral. Is this how Seattle works (or the entire Pacific Northwest), you have to know someone inside? I have a Master's degree and sought after /valuable Technology and Business skills. I have never had trouble finding new positions in other places like Los Angeles.

You're not alone. I took the plunge and moved to Seattle without a job almost a year ago. I've sent out over 200 applications and have secured nothing full-time, except for a couple temp assignments. I have a bachelor's degree from a top school in my field, and have worked with fortune 500 companies in New York and Chicago.

I find it very odd that in every single interview I attended, I was asked why I moved to Seattle. I have never been asked this in any of my interviews in New York or Chicago, because it is completely irrelevant to one's ability to perform a job. One company even told me in my rejection email that they were moving forward with a more "local" candidate. While working as a temp, almost all my co-workers were from Washington state, and the majority of them went to community college here or UW. There is definitely a bias here towards "keeping it in the family", and most companies here would rather hire a less qualified individual who's lived in Washington all their life, as opposed to a transplant who brings a top tier education and work experience to the table.

If I were you I would stick to more cosmopolitan and forward-thinking cities like San Francisco, LA, Chicago, New York. I've heard Portland is worse than Seattle. The Pacific Northwest seems to be very anti-transplant and they like to keep their market and industry as insular and homogeneous as possible even though they try to project otherwise.