Graduated 1 year ago, Didn't like Degree, Don't know what I actually want, Working HS level jobs, Embarrassed, Lost

Comments (34)

Whatdoido in Michigan

44 months ago

This is a long one, but I really need help.

I graduated a year ago with a marketing degree with a good deal of communication coursework from a nearby private college. I never knew what I wanted to do in college, so just ended up in marketing thinking it would be a versatile degree, and thinking my actual calling would come to light by the time I was a senior. Well, it didn't, so I just finished my degree so I could have one being so close. Also during that time, I was toying with changing to a communications major, hence a lot of classes in the area. I also completed an internship with a large regional hospital doing internal communications work, mostly writing. I didn't end up liking the type of work at the internship.

This whole time, I started to develop a distaste toward marketing. I didn't feel like I was learning any actually useful knowledge, I decided I was not in the right field, and post-college, none of the job opportunities are remotely attractive. They are all sales, or other similarly monotonous things. I also developed an inferiority complex about it all in my junior year. I felt embarrassed I was in a field deemed easy (which it was at least at my school. Just BSing and easy A classes). I compare myself to people in things like engineering, medicine, hard sciences, math... basically STEM people. And it makes me feel inferior, stupid, and like dirt. It makes me further hate myself than I already do. The whole campaign of commercials for STEM careers hit at a great time to rub it in my face. I have a history of being bullied, and it may have something to do with me letting it get to me.