Hiring/paying someone to get me a job?

Comments (11)

Anthony in Spring, Texas

52 months ago

I'm a recent grad (Dec 2014) with a BS in chemical engineering.

I feel that job-searching itself is a job if you are serious about it, which I am. I've been searching for jobs for about a month and a half now on a daily basis; wake up at 9 am, look at opened job positions, research positions, apply, end job-hunt at 5 pm. No weekends. I'm not really a "resume spammer" and so in those 1.5 months, I've only had 63 applications sent (tallied accurately). Received 1 interview, and it's for a job that has nothing to do with my degree, nice!

So, I've been thinking, since there's a service for just about anything, why is there no service to help desperate and jobless people like me who are willing to pay? I'm willing to pay someone twice the cost of my college tuition and/or most of my income from my new-found job for a certain amount of years, assuming that the person will get me a job. All the more to get me a higher-paying job.

All these job boards and online applications seem futile if you have no CONNECTIONS or 5-10 years of experience. There has to be someone who's got enough connections that I can pay to get me hired. Don't get me started on the career fairs.

Is such a service possible? Black market, deep web, underground venues, whatever. If there is something like this, I NEED to use it. I'm not in a position to make high-end corporate-level relationships that would lead to a more successful lifestyle, or at least a liveable and independent lifestyle.

Jury 14 in Hartford, Connecticut

52 months ago

Those are called recruiting/staffing agencies. Go to them and they'll GLADLY get you a job - if you smile enough in their face and let them know you're willing to take WHATEVER you can get for experience.

Tiffiney O in Northbrook, Illinois

52 months ago