HVAC Career PRO's vs. CON's anyone?

Page:  « Previous   1  2  3   

Mr Freeze in Connecticut

67 months ago

Today I work in a commercial / industrial setting in the healthcare industry were dryrooms and cleanrooms are a way of life. This I must tell you all is were it's at. An in house tech is the way to be. Training advancement etc it is how it worked out for me. Schooling was paid by my employer (that's 30 years after I graduated high school) now I only need to finish up my apprenticeship and get my S2 which is around the corner now as far as I see it after all these years! My message if you love it go for it...is this trade tough? Yes but it has rewards and if you work out just a little bit this I feel is actually good for your body. Pay attention to warning signs! Lift sensible (when I was in automotive guys were hurting themselves constantly you can hurt yourself being a weekend warrior!) wear knee pads! You don't make new knees when you sleep and that disk in your back will hurt you the rest of your life after you man handle a boiler down to the basement! Your boss yells at you "just get it done"? Remember he doesn't care once your off his disability sheet so remember it's your life! I love what I do every day. I was also blessed to do two trades in my life and a wealth of knowledge learned from both. Being in automotive helped with print reading / the motor shop helped me understand 3 phase electricity and the fundamentals of control's. Anyone getting into HVAC must know electrical if your uncomfortable around high voltage forget it. A Flash can kill you or maim you for life should you actually live through it. The explosion alone is equal to an M100 blowing up in your face so you'll lose your hearing for sure at the minimum! If you slip you can be impaled or electrocuted. If you do rooftop units you will work with 480 3 phase more than likely and it may be on a rainy day. Natural gas isn't bad but propane can blow a building off it's foundation and kill al